Good Morning Lovely 3L! (Term 6, Week 7)

 

Morning my lovely 3L.

Our last full week of Term 6. Where has the time gone? I’m still missing you all and it’s just not the same in school without all of 3L. I asked my little group on Friday about the positives and negatives of isolation. It was really nice for us all to share what we’ve found tough and what nice things have come out of all of this. I thought I’d share with you my thoughts…

 

For me, the beginning was really hard, as I live in a flat with no outside space. That one hour a day we were allowed out I absolutely cherished but it was still hard then having to be in for 23 hours of the day. I had to keep reminding myself to be grateful for having a roof over my head. I spent a lot of time looking on Rightmove during that time.

I miss hugs and can’t wait for the day we can hug people again. It’s been particularly hard as this is a stressful time for so many, and there have been times when I’ve seen family members, staff members and pupils at school upset and you can’t give them a hug when they want one. That has been so tough for me.

I miss work and teaching 3L. I love being in school but it’s not been the same without you all. I keep telling people how gutted I am that this has happened this year, as you are such a lovely class (I have been telling Ms de Mattos and Mrs Pentecost how lucky they are).

Of course, the main con is that there are many people that have lost their lives due to this virus and that is incredibly sad. We have to remember that and be grateful for our NHS, who have been putting their lives at risk to help so many people.

A positive for me, is that I have a much deeper appreciation for so many things. I went weeks without seeing my family and have really appreciated seeing some of them within the last few weeks, even if it is from a social distance. I appreciated the walks around Eastbourne, especially along the downs. At the beginning, when I was only in work one day a week, I appreciated that day so much as it got me out of the flat and back to a bit of normality.

I have massively appreciated this blog and the emails that you have been sending in. It has allowed me to see that you are learning things at home, whether that be academic or life skills, and also see that you are safe. That is the most important thing for me as your teacher, that you are happy and safe.

 

Maybe this week you could have a think about your pros and cons of this pandemic. You don’t have to share these thoughts but of course you can if you wish to. You may wish to share with your family, your friends over facetime or write down your thoughts in a diary. In years to come, History lessons will talk about the people who were around in the Corona Virus times. These have been crazy, challenging, strange times, so share your thoughts with someone.

Each week we will update the blog with 3 posts: one with times tables for the week, one with spellings to learn and one with some projects to do, so remember to scroll through to see them all!

  • In the project post, there will be some tasks from White Rose, which is the Maths scheme we follow in school so the tasks will be things we would’ve been learning in class.
  • There will also be some activities taken from our English/topic question, ‘What is a Journey?’
  • Finally, we will post the Science activity for the week taken from the Empiribox scheme we follow at school.

I’ve also updated MyMaths and re-set the tasks which you haven’t completed/the ones where it’s possible to improve your score.

Remember, you can send in your work and we can share it on the blog. My email is: 3L@westrise-jun.e-sussex.sch.uk I will check this at least once a day, so get sharing! Don’t worry if you aren’t able to email – just make sure you keep hold of your work, because if and when we return to school we will have a massive show and tell session!

Below are the tasks for Week 7…

*****************************************************************************************

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started